H.O.P.E. (Health Occupations Promoting Equity)


HOPE logo

H.O.P.E. (Health Occupations Promoting Equity)

 A health career exploration program for high school students.

 


Health Occupations Promoting Equity (HOPE) is a new and innovative statewide collaboration among all 6 Regional AHEC Centers. Each center develops and teaches a lesson to high school attendees in-person in their own centers and live, virtually synchronous to all other Centers’ recruits. Students participate in sessions with students from all over Colorado every 4-6 weeks.    

We encourage Sophomore, Junior, and Senior students from rural or other underrepresented backgrounds to apply for this program!

Questions? email us at: COAHEC-HOPE@cuanschutz.edu




Complete 3 or more sessions to apply for the COAHEC’s H.O.P.E. Institute (Free Summer Camp) in July 2024 at CU Colorado Springs and the CU Anschutz Medical Campus!

 


2023-2024 HOPE Program Schedule

 

First Monday of Every Month from 6:00 PM to 7:30 PM

 

(September Meeting Excepted)

Date TitlePresenting Region

September 11th, 2023

What is HOPE?

Colorado AHEC Program Office  

October 2nd, 2023

Can I Afford to Be Healthy? Understanding How Economic Stability Affects Individual Healthcare Choices 

Front Range AHEC

November 6th, 2023

Explore! Dental Careers: Dental Office career positions and hands-on play dough activity

Southeastern Colorado AHEC

December 4th, 2023

Discover Healthcare

Western Colorado AHEC
February 5th, 2024From doctor to house cleaner to grant writer to visionary:
Identifying a community healthcare need, envisioning a solution, and tackling the task.
San Luis Valley Colorado AHEC
March 4th, 2024

Infectious Disease Pathology, Epidemiology and Careers in Public Health

Southwestern Colorado AHEC
April 1st, 2024

How Technology is Changing Healthcare

Centennial AHEC

 

If you have not received an email with the link to the HOPE session, by 12:00pm the day of the session, please email your Regional Coordinator. Look below for their contact information.


Find Your Regional Coordinator from the Map Below


 soft colors NEW MAP 1.2022
Region HOPE Program Coordinator
Centennial AHEC (CAHEC)

Samantha Vernon: Samantha@cahec.org

Front Range AHEC (FRAHEC)

Yolanda Gotier: Yolanda@frhealth.org

Eric Stevens: Eric@frhealth.org

San Luis Valley AHEC (SLVAHEC)

Nakayla Werner: Nakayla@slvahec.org

Southeastern Colorado AHEC (SECAHEC)

Shanae Gutierrez: Shanae.Gutierrez@secahec.org

Southwestern Colorado AHEC (SWCAHEC)Dyllon Mills: Dyllon.Mills@swcahec.org
Western Colorado AHEC (WCAHEC)

Neil Hanson: NHanson@wcahec.org

Colorado AHEC Program Office

CU Anschutz

Education II North

13120 East 19th Avenue

5th Floor

Aurora, CO 80045


303-724-0348

CMS Login