FACULTY

Training Faculty

FacultyResearch InterestContact

Tamim Shaikh, PhD Graduate Program Director

Copy number variation in developmental delay, intellectual disabilities and related conditions. Genome structure, rearrangements and evolution.

Tamim Shaikh's Faculty Profile

Tamim.Shaikh@cuanschutz.edu

Cheryl Ackert-Bicknell, PhD

Genetics of bone formation, bone quality and osteoporosis.

Ackert-Bicknell Lab Website

cheryl.ackert-bicknell@cuanschutz.edu

Kristin Artinger, PhD

Developmental genetics of the neural crest.

Kristin.Artinger@cuanschutz.edu

Kathleen Barnes, PhD

Personalized medicine, evolutionary genetics of human populations, and the genetics of asthma.

Kathleen.Barnes@cuanschutz.edu

Emily Bates, PhD

Molecular mechanisms of pediatric disorders.

Emily.Bates@cuanschutz.edu

Neil Box, PhD

Genetics of pigmentation and melanoma risks.

Neil.Box@cuanschutz.edu

Katrina Claw, Ph.D

Pharmacogenomics, genomic studies of nicotine metabolism, ethical, legal, and social implications (ELSI) of genomic research, genomic variation in health and disease.

katrina.claw@cuanschutz.edu

David Clouthier, PhD

Genetics of craniofacial and cardiovascular development.

David.Clouthier@cuanschutz.edu

Joaquin Espinosa, PhD

Genomics and tumor suppressor and oncogenes in cancer biology, trisomy 21 and Down syndrome.

Joaquin.Espinosa@cuanschutz.edu

Tasha E. Fingerlin, PhD

Association studies of complex disorders; type 2 diabetes mellitus

FingerlinT@njhealth.org

Curt R. Freed, MD

Genetic causes of Parkinson's disease. Modeling human genetic diseases with patient-derived induced pluripotent stem cells.

Curt.Freed@cuanschutz.edu

Christopher Gignoux, PhD

Interests in applications of population genetic theory, statistical modeling, and algorithmic development to improve large-scale, trans-ethnic, and biobank studies.

Chris.Gignoux@cuanschutz.edu

Audrey Hendricks, PhD

Statistical method development and application: (1) to increase the utility of large, publicly available genetic databases and (2) for longitudinal, ‘omics studies.

Audrey.Hendricks@ucdenver.edu

Larry Hunter, PhD

Bioinformatics and computational biology.

Larry.Hunter@cuanschutz.edu

Colleen G. Julian, PhDHuman genetic adaptation and physiologic responses to the hypoxia of high altitude; hypoxia-related vascular disorders of pregnancy.Colleen.Julian@cuanschutz.edu

Katerina Kechris, PhD

Development and application of statistical methods for analyzing -omics data sets.

Katerina.Kechris@cuanschutz.edu

Ethan Lange, PhDStudy design for gene-mapping studies, including the use of multistage study designs and use of public genetic resources to improve power for gene discovery. Ethan.Lange@cuanschutz.edu

Leslie Lange, PhD

Research focuses on the genetic epidemiology of complex traits, primarily regarding cardiovascular disease, obesity, diabetes and pulmonary related phenotypes.

Leslie.Lange@cuanschutz.edu

Amanda Law, PhD

Genetics of psychiatric, neurodevelopmental, and behavioral disorders.

The Neurodevelopmental and Neuropsychiatric Genetics Research Lab

Amanda.Law@cuanschutz.edu

James T. Nichols, PhD

Craniofacial developmental genetics and genetic resilience.

James.Nichols@cuanschutz.edu

Paul J. Norman, PhD

Immunogenetics; genetic variation that underpins our differential responses to infection.

Paul.Norman@cuanschutz.edu

Jill Norris, PhD

The genetic epidemiology of autoimmune diseases and the nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics of type 1 diabetes.

Jill.Norris@cuanschutz.edu

David Pollock, PhD

Evolutionary genomics

David.Pollock@cuanschutz.edu

Huntington Potter, PhD

Neurodegenerative diseases, particularly Alzheimer's Disease, and trisomy 21/Down Syndrome.

Huntington.Potter@cuanschutz.edu

Richard Radcliffe, PhD

CNS gene expression in genetic differences in acute alcohol sensitivity and tolerance.

Richard.Radcliffe@cuanschutz.edu

Marian Rewers, MD, PhD

Etiology, epidemiology and clinical outcomes of type 1 diabetes & cardiovascular complications of both type 1 and type 2 diabetes.

Marian.Rewers@cuanschutz.edu

Dennis Roop, PhD

Genetics of skin disease and skin development: stem cell biology.

Dennis.Roop@cuanschutz.edu

Holger Russ, PhD

The Russ labs research focuses on elucidating the underlying molecular and cellular mechanisms that result in the development of autoimmune diabetes in humans. The lab uses stem cell technology and human primary tissues in conjugation with genome engineering to address previously inaccessible biological questions.

Russ Lab Website

holger.russ@cuanschutz.edu

Stephanie Santorico, PhD

Methods and Designs in Statistical Genetics and Genetic Epidemiology including High-Dimensional Data, Multivariate Statistical Inference, Genetic Risk Prediction and Disease Sub-typing, Variance Components Methods, Multivariate Linkage, Family-Based Association Tests, and Meta-Analysis.

Santorico Website

Stephanie.Santorico@ucdenver.edu

Regie Santos-Cortez MD, PhD

Otolaryngology, Identify novel genes for otitis media susceptibility.

Santos-Cortez Lab Website

Regie.Santos-Cortez@cuanschutzedu

David Schwartz, MD, PhD

Genetics and epigenetics of environmental lung disease

David.Schwartz@cuanschutz.edu

Max Seibold, PhD

Genetics/Genomic Analysis of the Airway Epithelium in Asthma

SeiboldM@NJHealth.org

James Sikela, PhD

Genome variation in human evolution and disease

James.Sikela@cuanschutz.edu

Richard Spritz, MD

Mapping, discovery, and function of disease genes affecting skin, autoimmunity, and craniofacial development

Richard.Spritz@cuanschutz.edu

Kelly D. Sullivan, PhD

Interferon signaling in Down syndrome

Kelly.D.Sullivan@cuanschutz.edu

Matthew Taylor, MD, PhD

Genetics studies of inherited cardiomyopathies, polycystic kidney disease, intellectual disabilities, hereditary vascular diseases, Barth syndrome, Danon disease, and lysosmal storage diseases

Matthew.Taylor@cuanschutz.edu

Johan Van Hove, MD, PhD

Biochemical genetics, mitochondrial diseases, and neurogenetics

Johan.Vanhove@cuanschutz.edu

Jing Wang, PhD

Genomic instability and cancer development

Jing.Wang@cuanschutz.edu

Trevor Williams, PhD

Transcriptional control of development and cancer

Trevor.Williams@cuanschutz.edu

Ivana Yang, PhD

Genetic and biological determinants of environmental and occupational lung disease

Ivana.Yang@cuanschutz.edu

Michael Yeager, PhD

Yeager Lab Website

MICHAEL.YEAGER@CUANSCHUTZ.EDU

Non-Training Faculty

FacultyResearch InterestContact
Erin E. Austin, PhD Building statistical tools to analyze associations between genetic data and phenotypic data. Discover/cultivate interests in electronic health record data, network analysis in the PheWAS setting, gene- variant-level testing of single or muiltiple traits Erin.E.Austin@UCDENVER.EDU
Peter Baker II, MD Clinical Genetics and Metabolism, Maternal obesity effects offspring energy sensing and metabolism Peter.BakerII@cuanschutz.edu
Judith Gault, PhD Genetics of cerebral vascular malformations Judith.Gault@cuanschutz.edu
Nancy Hadley-Miller, PhD Genetics idiopathic scoliosis complex orthopedic disorders Nancy.Hadley-Miller@cuanschutz.edu
Greggory LaBerge, PhD Forensic Genetics Greggory.LaBerge@cuanschutz.edu
Sandra Martin, PhD Molecular evolutionary genetics Sandy.Martin@cuanschutz.edu
Shawn E. McCandless, MD Pathophysiology and Treatment of Medium-Chain Acyl-CoA Dehydrogenase Deficiency shawn.mccandless@cuanschutzedu
Luisa Mestroni, MD Genetics of adult heart disease; cardiomyopathies Luisa.Mestroni@cuanschutz.edu
York E. Miller, MD Mouse models of lung cancer risk; Use of genetically modified mice to asses potential lung cancer chemoprevention strategies York.Miller@cuanschutz.edu
Elaine Spector, PhD Clinical molecular genetics, transition of research findings to clinical testing Elaine.Spector@cuanschutz.edu
Janet Thomas, MD Clinical genetics, biochemical genetics, and genetic counseling Thomas.Janet@childrenscolorado.org