FACULTY

Training Faculty

Faculty NameResearch Interest and ProfilesFaculty Email

Tamim Shaikh, PhD, Graduate Program Director

Copy number variation in developmental delay, intellectual disabilities, and related conditions. Genome structure, rearrangements and evolution. 

Tamim Shaikh's Faculty Profile

Tamim.Shaikh@cuanschutz.edu

Cheryl Ackert-Bicknell, PhD

Genetics of bone formation, bone quality, and osteoporosis. 

Ackert-Bicknell Lab Website

cheryl.ackert-bicknell@cuanschutz.edu

Kristin Artinger, PhD

Developmental genetics of the neural crest. 

Artinger Lab Website

Kristin.Artinger@cuanschutz.edu

Emily Bates, PhD

Molecular mechanisms of pediatric disorders. 

Bates Lab Website

Emily.Bates@cuanschutz.edu

Ganna Bilousova, PhDCollagen-Related Diseases: Mechanisms and Gene Therapy Development Faculty ProfileGANNA.BILOUSOVA@CUANSCHUTZ.EDU
Martin Breuss, PhD

Genomic and cellular mosaicism: 1] its role in and impact on disease; 2] its use as a lineage mark

Breuss Research Profile

Martin.Breuss@cuanschutz.edu

Katrina Claw, PhD

Pharmacogenomics, genomic studies of nicotine metabolism, ethical, legal, and social implications (ELSI) of genomic research, genomic variation in health and disease.

Claw Research Profile

Katrina.Claw@cuanschutz.edu

David Clouthier, PhD

Genetics of craniofacial and cardiovascular development.

Clouthier Lab Website

David.Clouthier@cuanschutz.edu

Joaquin Espinosa, PhD

Genomics and tumor suppressor and oncogenes in cancer biology, trisomy 21 and Down syndrome.

Espinosa Lab Website

Joaquin.Espinosa@cuanschutz.edu

Tasha E. Fingerlin, PhD

Association studies of complex disorders; type 2 diabetes mellitus

Fingerlin Faculty Profile

FingerlinT@njhealth.org

Christopher Gignoux, PhD

Interests in applications of population genetic theory, statistical modeling, and algorithmic development to improve large-scale, trans-ethnic, and biobank studies.

Gignoux Lab Website

Chris.Gignoux@cuanschutz.edu

Casey Greene, PhD

Machine learning approaches that integrate large collections of public data to model and understand complex biological systems. Investigate different biological conditions, including those with limited data, such as rare diseases.

Greene Lab Website

casey.s.greene@cuanschutz.edu

Audrey Hendricks, PhD

Statistical method development and application: (1) to increase the utility of large, publicly available genetic databases and (2) for longitudinal, ‘omics studies.

Hendricks Lab Website

Audrey.Hendricks@ucdenver.edu

Larry Hunter, PhD

Bioinformatics and computational biology.

Hunter Faculty Profile

Larry.Hunter@cuanschutz.edu

Sujatha Jagannathan PhD

Nonsense-mediated RNA decay in health and disease.

Jagannathan Lab Website

sujatha.jagannathan@cuanschutz.edu

 

Colleen G. Julian, PhD

Human genetic adaptation and physiologic responses to the hypoxia of high altitude; hypoxia-related vascular disorders of pregnancy.

Julian Faculty Profile

Colleen.Julian@cuanschutz.edu

Katerina Kechris, PhD

Development and application of statistical methods for analyzing -omics data sets.

Kechris Faculty Profile

Katerina.Kechris@cuanschutz.edu

Ethan Lange, PhD

Study design for gene-mapping studies, including the use of multistage study designs and the use of public genetic resources to improve power for gene discovery. 

Lange Faculty Profile

Ethan.Lange@cuanschutz.edu

Leslie Lange, PhD

Research focuses on the genetic epidemiology of complex traits, primarily regarding cardiovascular disease, obesity, diabetes, and pulmonary-related phenotypes.

Lange Faculty Profile

Leslie.Lange@cuanschutz.edu

Amanda Law, PhD

The developmental mechanisms underlying genetic and environmental risk for schizophrenia with the aim of identifying novel biological pathways for treatment development.

Law Faculty Profile

The Neurodevelopmental and Neuropsychiatric Genetics Research Lab

Amanda.Law@cuanschutz.edu

James T. Nichols, PhD

The Nichols Lab uses the zebrafish system to understand craniofacial development and variability. We are especially interested in how genotypic mutants overcome a deleterious mutation to produce the wild-type phenotype. 

James T. Nichols, PhD

James.Nichols@cuanschutz.edu

Paul J. Norman, PhD

We study the genetic and functional immune diversity of indigenous groups worldwide, including African hunter-gatherers, Australians and Pacific Islanders. We also study ancient humans, and perform comparative evolutionary analyses of multiple other species.

Norman Lab Website

Paul.Norman@cuanschutz.edu

Jill Norris, PhD

The genetic epidemiology of autoimmune diseases and the nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics of type 1 diabetes.

Norris Faculty Profile

Jill.Norris@cuanschutz.edu

David Pollock, PhD

Research projects in our laboratory range from pure theoretical (mathematical or computational) biology to purely empirical research (PCR and sequencing to obtain critical sequence biodiversity information, or site-directed mutagenesis, gene synthesis and directed evolution to test computationally-derived theories of protein sequence and structure/function relationships).

Pollock Faculty Profile

David.Pollock@cuanschutz.edu

Huntington Potter, PhD

Neurodegenerative diseases, particularly Alzheimer's Disease, and trisomy 21/Down Syndrome.

Potter Faculty Profile

Huntington.Potter@cuanschutz.edu

Sridharan Raghavan, MD, PhD

Study the causes and consequences of cardiometabolic diseases and anthropometric traits, particularly focused on type 2 diabetes mellitus, diabetes complications, height, and adiposity. 

Raghavan Faculty Proflle

Sridharan.Raghavan@cuanschutz.edu

Marian Rewers, MD, PhD

Etiology, epidemiology and clinical outcomes of type 1 diabetes & cardiovascular complications of both type 1 and type 2 diabetes.

Rewers Faculty Profile

Marian.Rewers@cuanschutz.edu

Dennis Roop, PhD

Genetics of skin disease and skin development: stem cell biology.

Roop Faculty Profile

Dennis.Roop@cuanschutz.edu

Stephanie Santorico, PhD

Methods and Designs in Statistical Genetics and Genetic Epidemiology including High-Dimensional Data, Multivariate Statistical Inference, Genetic Risk Prediction, and Disease Sub-typing, Variance Components Methods, Multivariate Linkage, Family-Based Association Tests, and Meta-Analysis.

Santorico Website

Stephanie.Santorico@ucdenver.edu

Regie Santos-Cortez MD, PhD

Otolaryngology, Identify novel genes for otitis media susceptibility.

Santos-Cortez Lab Website

Regie.Santos-Cortez@cuanschutzedu

David Schwartz, MD, PhD

Genetics and epigenetics of environmental lung disease.

Schwartz Faculty Profile

David.Schwartz@cuanschutz.edu

Max Seibold, PhD

Genetics/Genomic Analysis of the Airway Epithelium in Asthma.

Seibold Lab Website

SeiboldM@NJHealth.org

Kelly D. Sullivan, PhD

Interferon signaling in Down syndrome.

Sullivan Faculty Profile

Kelly.D.Sullivan@cuanschutz.edu

Matthew Taylor, MD, PhD

Genetics studies of inherited cardiomyopathies, polycystic kidney disease, intellectual disabilities, hereditary vascular diseases, Barth syndrome, Danon disease, and lysosomal storage diseases.

Taylor Faculty Profile

Matthew.Taylor@cuanschutz.edu

Johan Van Hove, MD, PhD

Biochemical genetics, mitochondrial diseases, and neurogenetics.

Van Hove Faculty Profile

Johan.Vanhove@cuanschutz.edu

Gregory Way, PhD

Integrative genomics, imaging, cell biology, machine learning, and data science.

Way Lab Website

gregory.way@cuanschutz.edu

Trevor Williams, PhD

Transcriptional control of development and cancer.

Williams Faculty Profile

Trevor.Williams@cuanschutz.edu

Ivana Yang, PhD

Genetic and biological determinants of environmental and occupational lung disease.

Yang Faculty Profile

Ivana.Yang@cuanschutz.edu

Michael Yeager, PhD

The primary goal of the Yeager Lab is to understand how the lung vasculature (blood and lymphatic) operates during episodes of acute and chronic inflammation.

Yeager Lab Website

MICHAEL.YEAGER@CUANSCHUTZ.EDU

Non-Training Faculty

FacultyResearch InterestContact
Erin E. Austin, PhD

Building statistical tools to analyze associations between genetic data and phenotypic data. Discover/cultivate interests in electronic health record data, network analysis in the PheWAS setting, gene- variant-level testing of single or multiple traits.

Erin.E.Austin@UCDENVER.EDU
Peter Baker II, MD Clinical Genetics and Metabolism, Maternal obesity effects offspring energy sensing and metabolism Peter.BakerII@cuanschutz.edu
Curt R. Freed, MD

Genetic causes of Parkinson's disease. Modeling human genetic diseases with patient-derived induced pluripotent stem cells.

Freed Research Profile
Curt.Freed@cuanschutz.edu
Judith Gault, PhD

Genetics of cerebral vascular malformations.

Gault Lab Website

Judith.Gault@cuanschutz.edu
Nancy Hadley-Miller, PhD

Genetics idiopathic scoliosis complex orthopedic disorders.

Hadley-Miller Lab Website

Nancy.Hadley-Miller@cuanschutz.edu
Greggory LaBerge, PhD

Forensic Genetics.

LaBerge Faculty Profile

Greggory.LaBerge@cuanschutz.edu
Sandra Martin, PhD

The goal of our research is to discover the relationship between genome and phenome that underlies the remarkable physiology of hibernation.

Martin Faculty Profile

Sandy.Martin@cuanschutz.edu
Shawn E. McCandless, MD

Pathophysiology and Treatment of Medium-Chain Acyl-CoA Dehydrogenase Deficiency.

McCandless Faculty Profile

Shawn.Mccandless@cuanschutzedu
Luisa Mestroni, MD

Genetics of adult heart disease; cardiomyopathies.

Mestroni Lab Website

Luisa.Mestroni@cuanschutz.edu
York E. Miller, MD

Mouse models of lung cancer risk; Use of genetically modified mice to assess potential lung cancer chemoprevention strategies.

Miller Faculty Profile

York.Miller@cuanschutz.edu
Tzu Phang, PhD

Bioinformatics education.

Phang Faculty Profile

Tzu.Phang@cuanschutz.edu
Richard Radcliffe, PhD

CNS gene expression in genetic differences in acute alcohol sensitivity and tolerance.

Radcliffe Faculty Profile
Richard.Radcliffe@cuanschutz.edu
Elaine Spector, PhD

Clinical molecular genetics, the transition of research findings to clinical testing.

Spector Faculty Profile

Elaine.Spector@cuanschutz.edu

Richard Spritz, MD, Professor Emeritus

Mapping, discovery, and function of disease genes affecting skin, autoimmunity, and craniofacial development.

Richard.Spritz@cuanschutz.edu
Janet Thomas, MD

Clinical genetics, biochemical genetics, and genetic counseling.

Thomas.Janet@childrenscolorado.org