Faculty Promotion and Tenure Task Force 


In spring 2021, Chancellor Elliman tasked the Office of Strategic Initiatives (OSI) with running a strategic process to identify key priorities and initiatives for the campus over the next five years. OSI partnered with Inworks to leverage an inclusive, human-centered philosophy of design innovation and engage over 700 members of the campus community in contributing to a vision for how CU Anschutz might continue to break new ground in health sciences education, research, patient care and community engagement. OSI convened a steering committee and four working groups centered on each of these mission areas.

In synthesizing the recommendations from these groups, a common theme that emerged was the need to invest in our people. Participants felt that there was a need to better recognize the contributions of faculty across the many dimensions of their work. A key recommendation was to evaluate campus promotion and tenure processes to identify opportunities to reward achievements in community engagement, and innovation.


The charge of this task force is to assess current promotion processes and develop recommendations/best practices regarding campus promotion criteria and processes, with attention to DEI, innovation, and community engagement.

Dr. Laura Borgelt, Associate Vice Chancellor, Strategic Initiatives and
Dr. Regina Richards, Vice Chancellor, Office of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Community Engagement

 Member Representing
Melissa DeSantis (Co-Chair) Strauss Health Sciences Library
Jill Taylor (Co-Chair) Provost's Office 
Amy Barton College of Nursing 
Cathy BodineBioengineering
Lori CraneColorado School of Public Health 
Tracy de Peralta School of Dental Medicine
Melissa Desantis Strauss Health Sciences Library 
Emily GammCollege of Nursing
Michael Harris-Love School of Medicine
Cerise HuntColorado School of Public Health
 Melanie JoySkaggs School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences
Sheila KennedySchool of Dental Medicine 
Steven LowensteinSchool of Medicine 
Donald Nease School of Medicine 
Manisha PatelSkaggs School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences
Angie RiberaSchool of Medicine 
Support - Ex Officio
Paul JoyceHuman Resources 
Divya PakhaleOffice of Strategic Initiatives (now Campus Strategy) 
Aimee Woznick Office of Strategic Initiatives  (now Campus Strategy) 

CMS Login