STUDENTS

Current Students

The Department of Microbiology is home to a number of graduate students studying everything from small RNA's in viruses or bacteria to seroepidemiology of polyomaviruses and just about everything in-between. Students hail from around the country and from a variety of different backgrounds.

Name (Matriculation Year)EmailLab
Christopher Covey (2013)Christopher.Covey@CUAnschutz.eduVoskuil
Abigail Armstrong (2014)Abigail.Armstrong@CUAnschutz.eduLozupone
Kathleen Arnolds (2014)Kathleen.Arnolds@CUAnschutz.eduLozupone
Jennifer Berger (2014)Jennifer.Berger@CUAnschutz.eduvan Dyk
Sarah Born (2014)Sarah.Born@CUAnschutz.eduVoskuil
Zoe O'Donoghue (2014 BSP)Zoe.ODonoghue@CUAnschutz.eduKieft
Ricardo Villarreal (2014 MSTP)Richardo.Villarreal@CUAnschutz.eduDoran
Gabriela Samayoa-Reyes (2015)Gabriela.SamayoaReyes@CUAnschutz.eduPoeschla
Ari Simenauer (2015)Ari.Simenauer@CUAnschutz.eduCota-Gomez
Ashley Knox (2016 BSP)Ashley.Knox@CUAnschutz.eduvan Dy
Casey Martin (2016)Casey.Martin@CUAnschutz.eduLozupone
Rachel Neve (2016)Rachel.Neve@CUAnschutz.eduPhelan
Frank Santoriello (2016)Francis.Santoriello@CUAnschutz.eduPukatzki
Hadrian Sparks (2016)Hadrian.Sparks@CUAnschutz.eduBeckham
Sarah Stonedahl (2016 BSP)Sarah.Stonedahl@CUAnschutz.eduTyler
Norhan Alhajjar (2017)Norhan.Alhajjar@CUAnschutz.eduDoran
Monica Graham (2017)Monica.Graham@CUAnchutz.edu Beckham
Jonathan Mendez (2017)Jonathan.Mendez@CUAnschutz.eduKeestra-Gounder
Brendan Monogue (2017)Brendan.Monogue@CUAnschutz.eduBeckham
Matt Szucs (2017)Matthew.Szucs@CUAnschutz.eduKieft
Morgan Brown (2017 BSP)Morgan.Brown@CUAnschutz.eduHorswill
Joshua Frost (2017 BSP)Joshua.Frost@CUAnschutz.edu Tyler
Cydney Johnson (2017 BSP)Cydney.Johnson@CUAnschutz.edu Duerkop
Hailey Kinsland (2018)Hailey.Kinsland@CUAnschutz.eduPhelan
Haider Manzer (2018)Haider.Manzer@CUAnschutz.edu Doran
Frances Li (2018 MSTP)Frances.Li@CUAnschutz.edu Morrison
Anna Burnet (2019)Anna.Burnet@CUAnschutz.edu Rotating
Emma Culbertson (2019)Emma.Culbertson@CUAnschutz.edu Rotating
Klara Keim (2019)Klara.Keim@CUAnschutz.edu Rotating
Cormack Lucas (2019)Cormac.Lucas@CUAnschutz.edu Rotating
Laurie Lyon (2019)Laurie.Lyon@CUAnschutz.edu Rotating
Krista Mills (2019)Krista.Mills@CUAnschutz.eduHorswil

Alumni

Alumni of the Microbiology PhD Program can be found in research labs and biotech companies around the country.

Alumni (Year Graduated)Next PositionAdvisorResearch Interest
Scott Seitz (2019)Postdoctoral Fellow – BostonKen TylerThe intracellular and extracellular innate immune response to flaviviral infection of the central nervous system
Joseph Westrich (2018)Postdoctoral Fellow – Colorado State University Dohun Pyeon 7Dysregulation of the host immune response by the human papillomavirus oncoprotein E
Liam Fitzsimmons (2018) Postdoctoral Fellow – Rocky Mountain Laboratories Andres Vazquez-Torres Nucleotide Metabolism in Salmonella Pathogenesis
Alexander Little (2018) Principle Scientist at Green Genomix Michael Schurr The Pseudomonas aeruginosa AlgZR two-component system: Expression, responsiveness, control of iron acquisition and impact on virulence
Zane Jaafar (2017) Postdoctoral Fellow – Stanford University Jeffrey Kieft Viral Internal Ribosome entry Site (IRES)-Mediated Manipulation of Translation Preinitiaiton Complexes and the Consequences for Non-Canonical Translation
David Hawman (2016) Postdoctoral Fellow – Lab of Virology, Rocky Mountain Laboratories Tem Morrison Viral and Host Determinants of Chikungunya Virus Persistence
Katherine Shives (2016) Scientist – Sartorius Stedim North America, Inc. J. David Beckham MTOR Complex 1 regulates translation initiation events of (+)-sense RNA viruses
Natalie Herrera (2014 M.S) Professional Research Assistant – CU Anschutz Eric Poeschla Investigating the role of RNA dependent RNA polymerases (RdRp) as an antiviral therapeutic
Cody Warren (2016) Postdoctoral Fellow – CU Boulder Dohun Pyeon Roles of Interferon Stimulated Genes in Human Papillomavirus Infection and Cancer Progression
Kalani Halemano (2015) Software Developer/Designer Sykes Enterprises, Inc. Mario Santiago The Role of APOBEC3 in the Neutralizing Antibody Response to Friend Retrovirus Infection
Sam Li (2015) Postdoctoral Fellow - CU Anschutz Mario Santiago The Role of Tetherin/BST-2 in retroviral infection in vivo
Daphne Cooper (2015) Postdoctoral Fellow – University of Nevada Dave Barton The Detection of Ribonuclease Cleavage Sites in Host and viral RNAs during Viral Infections
Laura Griffin (2014) Consultant – BioMed Bridge, LLC Dohun Pyeon Virus-host interactions that modulate human papillomavirus infection in human keratinocytes
Toni Schwartz (2014) Postdoctoral Fellow – Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai Caroline Kulesza Molecular Investigation of the MCMV 7.2 kb IncRNA: A Viral Persistence Factor
Christopher Abraham (2014) Postdoctoral Fellow – CU Anschutz Caroline Kulesza Polycomb Repressive Complex 2 & Cytomegalovirus Infection
Chad Austin (2014) NBBTP Fellow, NIH, National Biosafety and Biocontainment Training Program Martin Voskuil The role of colony variation in stomach colonization by Burkholderia pseudomallei
Yuta Okkotsu (2013) Research Associate – CU Anschutz Michael Schurr Pseudomonas aeruginosa response regulator AlgR modulates rhamnolipid production in a phosphorylation dependent manner.
Henri Jupille (2013) Postdoctoral Fellow – Pasteur Institute Tem Morrison Identification of a viral determinant of virulence in Ross River virus that modulates viral replication and fitness in disparate hosts.
Elisabeth Bowers (2013) Homemaker Ed Janoff Impaired Somatic Hypermutation and Activation-Induced Cytidine Deaminase Expression and Function During HIV-1 Infection
Iona Bartek (2012) Postdoctoral Fellow – CU Anschutz Martin Voskuil Mechanisms of M. tuberculosis DNA protection during dormancy
Rachel Leistikow (2012) Assistant Professor – Platt School of Nursing Martin Voskuil Tuberculosis DosR regulon and metabolism under oxygen-restricted conditions
Jennifer Mahaffey (2012 M.S.) Professional Research Assistant – CU Anschutz Andres Vazquez-Torres Molecular and functional characterization of the redox active SsrB response regulator in Salmonella pathogenesis
Calvin Henard (2012) Postdoctoral Fellow – University of Texas Medical Branch Andres Vazquez-Torres DksA-mediated Resistance of Salmonella against Oxidative and Nitrosative Stress
Stephanie Schittone (2011) Adjunct Faculty (Biology) – Red Rocks Community College Ken Tyler Mechanisms of virus induced motor neuron injury and treatment of viral myelitis
Jens Eberlein (2011) Postdoctoral Fellow – CU Anschutz Dirk Homann Maturation of T cell memory
Heather Berens Norman (2011 PhD, 2013 MD) Returned to Medical School , Resident Physician Internal Med CU Anschutz Ken Tyler Roles of the Bcl-2 family proteins and the intrinsic pathway in reovirus-induced apoptosis in the central nervous system
Jennifer R. Honda (2010)

Assistant Professor at National Jewish Health  

Sonia Flores 
Rhea Miller-May (2010) Research Scientist - Sharklet Inc. Michael Vasil Investigation of lipid chemotaxis by Pseudomonas aeruginosa
Teresa Dominguez (2010 MS) Research Associate – CU Anschutz Dave Barton Cell Death and Enterovirus Release
Jacinta Cooper (2010 PhD, 2012 MD) School - Resident Physician Cincinnati Children’s Amy Barton/Ed Janoff Cellular substrates for herpesvirus Us3 and mucosal immunity to Streptococcus pneumoniae
Jaime Kean (2010) Clinical Program Manager - Covidien Hau-Chern Jan Biology of the lymphotropic polyomavirus
Ryan Honaker (2010) Principle Scientist - EpiBiome Martin Voskuil Signals for induction and the functionality of the dormancy regulon in M. tuberculosis
William Cody (2010) Assistant Professor -University of Dallas Michael SchurrThe role of AlgZ in HCN production in Pseudomonas aeruginosa
Kevin Diebel (2010) Postdoctoral Fellow – CU Anschutz Linda van Dyk Biogenesis and biological functions of the gammaherpesvirus 68 encoded microRNAs
Zachary Wilson (2010 M.S.) Assistant Biosafety Officer – CU Anschutz Michael Vasil Iron Regulates the Expression of the Pseudomonas aeruginosa Ferric Uptake Regulator
David Revelli (2009) Postdoctoral Fellow -NIAID Rocky Mountains Laboratory Michael Vasil Characterization of the non-hemolytic Phospholipase C of Pseudomonas aeruginosa
Hannah Townsand (2008) Postdoctoral Fellow – University of Michigan Dave Barton A phylogenetically conserved RNA structure within the poliovirus 3C ORF competitively inhibits the antiviral ribonuclease L
Travis Bourret (2008) Postdoctoral Fellow – National Institutes of Health Andres Vazquez-Torres The PhoPQ two-component regulatory system: at the cross roads of nitrosative stress and Salmonella pathogenesis
Megan Howard (2008) Postdoctoral Fellow – CU Boulder Kathryn Holmes Function of SARS coronavirus spike glycoprotein
Benjamin Steil (2008) Postdoctoral Fellow – Global Vaccines Dave Barton Poliovirus RNA replication
Mary Smith (2008) Senior Fellow – Department of Global Health, University of Washington Kathryn Holmes Human Coronavirus-Receptor Interactions
Laura Brown (2004 PhD, 2008 MD) Returned to Medical School then was a General Surgery Resident University of Michigan Robert Garcea Chaperones in assembly and disassembly of polyoma and papillomaviruses
Erin Buckingham (2007) Postdoctoral Fellow - University of Iowa Linda van Dyk Viral gene expression in gamma-herpesvirus latency
Lisa Williams (2007) Technical Sales Consultant – Mitenyi Biotec Linda van Dyk Cell Cycle Inhibitors in Control of Chronic Gammaherpesvirus 68 Infection
Danielle Sentz (2007) Postdoctoral Fellow – College of Medicine Pennsylvania State University Randall Holmes Characterizing Interactions of Cholera Toxin and ARF
Jennifer Spinler (2006) Instructor – Baylor College of Medicine Randall Holmes Characterization of the DtxR regulon in C. diphtheriae
Adam Barker (2006) Scientist – University of Utah Mike Vasil The Role of Phospholipases in Chemotaxis P. aeruginosa
Matthew Lyman (2005) Postdoctoral Fellow -Princeton University Bruce Banfield Analysis of the Pseudorabies Virus Tegument Proteins US3, VP22, and US2
Martin Stonehouse (2004) Deceased Mike Vasil Mechanism and biological role of calcium binding chaperone of the hemolytic phospholipase C of P. aeruginosa
Amanda Clase (2004) Advisor US Dept of Defense Bruce Banfield Herpesvirus infection in the developing nervous system
Brian Turner (2004) Research Instructor Stem Cell Biology – CU Anchutz Kathryn Holmes 
Larissa Thackray (2003) Assistant Professor of Pathology – Washington University Kathryn Holmes Effects of mutations in the spike glycoprotein of human coronavirus 229E on receptor specificity
Sarah Burns-Richardson (2003) Director of Research and Development Biotectix Ken Tyler Apoptosis in viral infection of the central nervous system and primary neuronal culture
Kenneth Murray (2003) Assistant Professor Biology – Florida International University Dave Barton Poliovirus RNA Replication

Are you a Microbiology alumnus? We'd love to stay in touch!