Interdisciplinary Movement Science Laboratory (IMSL)

Our Mission

​​To promote activity and healthy aging through movement.

Our Vision

​Improving the lives of aging adults with disability through innovative rehabilitation research.


Contact Us


Interdisciplinary Movement Science Lab 
13121 E. 17th Ave.
Mail Stop C244
Aurora, CO 80045

Lab Phone: 303-724-6035​
Dr. Christiansen's Office: 303-724-9101
Dr. Mañago’s Office: 303-724-0247

If you’re interested in participating in one of our ongoing clinical trials, call 303-724-6035 or email emily.hager@cuanschutz.edu​

twitter@CUMvmtScience

Our Values

IMSL Values Image
IMSL Team Photo 2021

Our Research

Overground Motion Analysis Lab
Instrumented Split Belt Treadmill Motional Analysis LabOther Equipment
1725 square foot motion analysis laboratory

Eight camera 3-dimensional motion capture (Vicon)

Imbedded forceplates (Bertec)

15 meter walkway
Twelve camera 3-dimential motion capture including hardware and software (Vicon)

Split-belt force-plate instrumented treadmill (Bertec)

Gaterite Electronic Walkway
Wearable accelerometer-based systems (Delsys, Actigraph, ActivPAL, Notch, XSENS, Medtronic Zephyr Performance Systems)

Telemedicine equipment (Tablets for remote participant interaction, Dedicated telehealth workspace)

Electromechanical dynamometer (Humac Norm)

Indirect Calorimeter (Parvo Medics)
Research PatientsPatient assisting with conducting researchOther Equipment

 

IMSL Research Collaborators 
CU ACCORDS
Daniel Matlock, MD, PhD 
Megan Morris, PhD, MPH 
Colle​​ge of Nursing
Paul Cook, PhD, LP​
CU PMR
Daniel Matlock, MD, PhD 
Megan Morris, PhD, MPH 
Amy Nordon-Craft, PT, DSc
Margaret Schenkman, PT, PhD, FAPTA
CU RESTORE​
Jennifer Stevens-Lapsley, PT, PhD
Michael Bade, PT, DPT, PhD, OCS​​
DU Center for Orthopedics Biomechanics​
Bradley Davidson, PhD ​
UCH Limb Restoration Group​
Jason Stoneback, MD ​
Guy Lev, PT, DPT, COMPT
Kristen Loker, NP
VA Rocky Mountain GRECC
Elizabeth Juarez-Colunga, PhD Jennifer Stevens-Lapsley, PT, PhD​
Noel So, MD
VA Rocky Mountain MIRECC​​
Meredith Mealer, PhD​

 

 

IMSL Faculty & Staff   
Cory Christiansen 21 Headshot
Cory Christiansen, PT, PhD
IMS Team Co-Director, IMS Motion Capture Lab Co-Director
cory.christiansen@cuanschutz.edu

Mark Manago 21 Headshot

Mark Mañago, PT, DPT, PhD, NCS,
IMS Team Co-Director

mark.manago@cuanschutz.edu

Gaffney_Headshot
Brecca Gaffney, PhD
IMS Motion Capture Lab Co-Director
brecca.gaffney@ucdenver.edu

Givan
Maggie Givan, MA
Research Services Professional
maggie.givan@cuanschutz.edu

Emily Hager
Emily Hager, MS
Program Analyst
emily.hager@cuanschutz.edu

Balfany, Kat
Kat Balfany, MS, CSCS
Professional Research Assistant
katherine.balfany@cuanschutz.edu

Christina Mihova


Christina Mihova, MS
Professional Research Assistant
christina.mihova@cuanschutz.edu

Eliza Biondi
Eliza Biondi, MS
Professional Research Assistant
eliza.biondi@cuanschutz.edu

Hannah Dwight
Hannah Dwight, DPT
Physical Therapist/Professional Research Assistant
hannah.dwight@cuanschutz.edu

Chelsey Anderson
Chelsey Anderson, CPO
PhD Student
chelsey.anderson@cuanschutz.edu

Laura Swink
Laura Swink, OTR, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
laura.swink@cuanschutz.edu

Rashelle Hoffman


Rashelle Hoffman, PT, DPT, PhD, GCS
Postdoctoral Fellow
rashelle.hoffman@cuanschutz.edu

Davis-Wilson, Hope


Hope Davis-Wilson, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

hope.davis-wilson@cuanschutz.edu

Cami Larson
Cami Larson

DPT Student


Graciela Salinas
Graciela Salinas

DPT Student

Kaycee_Binder_110147049
Kaycee Binder
DPT Student
IMSL Alumni  
Paul Kline Headshot Paul Kline, PT, DPT, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow, 2020

Matt Miller Headshot

Matt Miller, PT, PhD

PhD Student, 2019

 

Amanda Murray HeadshotAmanda Murray, DPT, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow, 2016