BSP students are fully-funded. ​A student’s first year stipend and tuition is covered entirely by the Graduate School. However, we continually encourage first year students to apply for grants, which are wonderful professional development opportunities and may allow for unique research experiences. ​


You’ll find that a number of our programs under our umbrella currently hold long-standing training grants. Other programs within the umbrella are in the process of applying for their own T32’s: Cell Biology, Stem Cells & Development; Cancer Biology, Human Medical Genetics and Genomics; Integrated Physiology; Structural Biology and Biochemistry.

Computational Bioscience Program T15 | This training grant supports six pre-doctoral and three postdoctoral trainees; it is currently supplemented by an ARRA-related award of an additional one pre-doctoral and three postdoctoral slots.
NIH Reporter Summary for the Computational Bioscience T15

Immunology Program T32 | The Immunology Training grant supports 5 pre-doctoral trainees in the Immunology Program. Trainees will be chosen from pre-doctoral fellows in the laboratories of any of the faculty on the program. Predoctoral fellows will be appointed after their successful first year in the program, when they have passed their preliminary exam, chosen and begun work in their training laboratories. 
NIH Reporter Summary for the Immunology T32

Microbiology Program T32 | Students are selected for appointment to this training program only after they have completed their required course work, passed their preliminary and comprehensive examinations and begun their dissertation research.
NIH Reporter Summary for the Microbiology T32

Molecular Biology Program T32 | Recently renewed for its 16th year. High quality students with strong academic records and a demonstrated aptitude, commitment and passion for research are selected by a committee. The training program is flexible and highly student orientated to meet individual needs, but at the same time has a rigorous curriculum, sets high standards and is very well organized. Currently, this training grant appoints 6 pre-doctoral trainees each year through PI nominations.  Trainees are appointed for one year with the opportunity to be re-appointed for a second year.
NIH Reporter Summary for the Molecular Biology T32

Neuroscience Program T32 | This grant has been funding the program since 1993. This grant currently funds six slots for first and second year Ph.D. students in the Neuroscience Training Program, and these students are appointed to the grant by the Graduate Training Committee.
NIH Reporter Summary for the Neuroscience T32

Pharmacology Program T32 | Currently the longest running Pharmacology T32 in the nation. The grant is going into its 35th year. This training grant is typically used for second and third year students in Pharmacology Training Labs. Students can be on this training grant for no more than two years.
NIH Reporter Summary for the Pharmacology T32